Sponsored by
[ Events ]

Activity Search
Sort out
Workshop on Geometric Evolution Equations and Related fields

March 8 - 9, 2021

Lecture Hall 5F, Cosmology Building, NTU
Shu-Cheng Chang (National Taiwan University)
Martin Guest (Waseda University)
Yoshihiro Ohnita (Osaka City University & Advanced Mathematical Institute)
Mao-Pei Tsui (National Taiwan University)

Aim & Scope:

The focus of the workshop is on geometric evolution equations, function theory, and related elliptic and parabolic equations. Geometric flows have been used to solve a variety of geometric, topological, analytical and physical problems. The main idea in geometric flows is to evolve some form of curvature  by diffusive (heat type) equations such as the mean, inverse mean, Gauss, and Willmore flows of submanifolds, the Ricci, Kähler-Ricci, and Calabi flows of manifolds, the Yang-Mills and Hermitian-Einstein flows of connections and metrics on vector bundles, and the Yamabe and other conformal flows of metrics. Each of these flows seeks to evolve the corresponding geometric structures to canonical geometric structures. Geometric flows have numerous relations with other areas of mathematics and science. Mean curvature flow, which is the gradient flow for the area functional, and its variants are related to material science. Gauss curvature flow has been used to model the wearing of stones and other objects. Inverse mean curvature has been applied to solve fundamental problems in general relativity, such as the Penrose inequality. Ricci flow has been applied to solve the Poincare and Geometrization Conjectures. The Kähler-Ricci and Hermitian-Einstein flows have deep applications to algebraic geometry.

 In this workshop, we will mainly focus on the following geometric evolution equations and related topics: Kähler Ricci flow, line bundle mean curvature flow, mean curvature flow, Sasaki-Ricci flow, inverse Monge-Ampere flow, harmonic map heat flows, network flow and elastic flow.

Invited Speakers:

Jui-En Chang (National Taiwan University)

Chih-Wei Chen (National Sun Yat-sen University)

Qing-Ming Cheng (Fukuoka University)

Siao-Hao Guo (National Taiwan University)

Toru Kajigaya (Tokyo Denki University)

Naoyuki Koike (Tokyo University of Science)

Keita Kunikawa (AIMR, Tohoku University)

Chun-Chi Lin (National Taiwan Normal University)

Yukihiro Seki (OCAMI)

Wei-Bo Su (Academia Sinica)

Ryosuke Takahashi (Kyushu University)

Chung-Jun Tsai (National Taiwan University)

Chin-Tung Wu (National Pingtung University)

Registration Link: For Taiwanese participants, please kindly do the registration by March 1st.


Contact: Peggy Lee (peggylee@ncts.tw)

  back to list

 (C) 2020 National Center for Theoretical Sciences